How To Bet On The 2023 NHL Stanley Cup Finals

Every fan of the NHL knows full well what the Stanley Cup is and how significant it is to every player in the league. But even if you're not a hockey fan and just like betting on the NHL, you may be intrigued by the story of the Stanley Cup. There's a lot of history to this trophy – it isn't simply something that was added to the league as a prop.

Every year the winner of the Stanley Cup gets to physically hold the cup for one full season, until the next winner is crowned. This is very significant for hockey teams, as there is only one Stanley Cup, and it is greatly coveted, adding a unique level of intensity to the NHL Playoffs right through to the Stanley Cup Finals. This page not only provides information for legally betting on hockey events such as the Stanley Cup, but also an insightful look at the history and tradition of Lord Stanley's Cup itself.

Best NHL Betting Site In The USA For 2023 Stanley Cup Odds

Bet Hockey Games Legally At Betonline Sportsbook

The Stanley Cup is the highlight of the NHL season each year, and those fans who enjoy betting on the NHL Finals need a reliable and legally licensed sportsbook that consistently delivers a high-quality betting experience. Fortunately, that's precisely what BetOnline AG does.

Established in 1991, BetOnline offers a $1000 new-member sportsbook bonus and a 25% lifetime bonus good for up to $1000 on every single deposit you make to your account. The book covers all NHL events and hockey series, including the Stanley Cup Finals. BetOnline is licensed and regulated in Panama City, Panama, and accepts both USA and International players. The site's banking suite supports a huge selection of deposits and payouts, and BetOnline's betting lines and NHL odds are competitive with the best Vegas NHL odds in Sin City.

Top Online NHL Sportsbooks For Betting On The 2023 Stanley Cup Finals

Betonline Hockey Promotion

SportsbookBonusUSARating 0-10Visit Link
Betonline Sportsbook25% Max $1,000Yes9.3Visit Site
Mybookie50% Max $1,000Yes9.2Visit Site
Sportsbetting.ag25% Max $1,000Yes9.1Visit Site
Bovada Sportsbook50% Max $250Yes8.9Visit Site
Bookmaker50% Max $300Yes8.6Visit Site

The History of the Stanley Cup Finals

The history of the Stanley Cup dates back to the late 1800s. It is named after Lord Stanley of Preston, who was the Governor General of Canada in the 1880s. After he and his family became avid fans of ice hockey, he decided to decree that a trophy should be awarded to the best team on the ice.

At the Montreal winter carnival in 1889, Stanley unveiled the trophy after the Montreal Victorias played the Montreal Hockey Club. It wasn't the Stanley Cup, but it was the start of what would become the cup. After the 1892 season, Stanley wrote a letter to the three-peat champion Ottawa Hockey Club, in which he stated that his desire was to create a challenge cup to be held by the champion hockey team on a yearly basis.

To follow up on those wishes, Stanley went out and purchased a decorative silver bowl and engraved the words "Dominion Hockey Challenge Cup" on one side, and "From Stanley of Preston" on the other.

During what is known as the Challenge Cup era in hockey, beginning in 1894, the playoffs arose due to mere inconvenience. Until that point, there was no playoff system. The team with the best record at the end of the season was simply awarded the title. But after the '94 season, there was a five-way tie, and after two teams had to bow out of the contest, a three-team tie-breaker was introduced, which would ultimately become the first ever Stanley Cup Playoffs.

Over the years, the prestige of the Stanley Cup continued to grow. Winning the governor's trophy became a point of pride for owners of ice hockey teams, and so they started to attract the best possible players they could to the teams. Unwittingly, it was actually amateur hockey that gave rise to things like scouting players, and these moves would ultimately spur on other modern-day staples like the draft and free agency. Hockey might not be the most popular sport, but most sporting leagues today owe a lot of their business to the way hockey handled their players in the late 1800s and early 1900s.

In 1914 a new league was formed, which allowed for interleague teams to compete for the Stanley Cup. But after most constituent promotions folded a few years later, the very small and barely popular NHL was the only hockey league left standing in the nation.

While over a hundred years old, and engraved over almost every inch of surface, the Stanley Cup is still the most sought-after trophy in all of pro hockey. It represents the culmination of weeks of betting on the NHL Playoffs and determines the top franchise for that given season.

2023 Stanley Cup Finals Preview

The Stanley Cup has been around for over a century, and since the start of the National Hockey League, millions of people have enjoyed seeing who will win the NHL Finals every year.

And from the time last year's NHL Champions were determined, the number-one question on the mind of hockey fans was, "Who's going to win the 2023 Stanley Cup?" Well, the best way to see who's favored to win is by taking a look at the betting odds, which you can find at any of the top operators linked above. Right now, the 2023 Stanley Cup favorites are the following:

2023 Stanley Cup Winner Odds

  • Colorado Avalanche +450
  • Boston Bruins +500
  • Vegas Golden Knights +850
  • Carolina Hurricanes +1100
  • Toronto Maple Leafs +1200
  • Florida Panthers +1800
  • Tampa Bay Lightning +1400
  • Calgary Flames +1400
  • New Jersey Devils +1000
  • Edmonton Oilers +1800
  • New York Rangers +2000
  • Dallas Stars +1800
  • Minnesota Wild +3000
  • Winnipeg Jets +4000
  • Los Angeles Kings +4000
  • Pittsburgh Penguins +2500
  • New York Islanders +4000
  • Seattle Kraken +4000
  • St. Louis Blues +5500
  • Washington Capitals +7000
  • Nashville Predators +8000
  • Buffalo Sabres +12500
  • Detroit Red Wings +12500
  • Ottawa Senators +12500
  • Vancouver Canucks +15000
  • Philadelphia Flyers +20000
  • Montreal Canadiens +20000
  • Anaheim Ducks +25000
  • Chicago Blackhawks +25000
  • San Jose Sharks +25000
  • Arizona Coyotes +100000